Merry Christmas, Movie House! 25 Days of Christmas Day 4: Jack Frost (1997)

Image

In 1998, a nice family film starring Beetlejuice Batman Michael Keaton came out where he died and became a snowman. It’s a touching tale about a boy and his father. I think. It’s been forever since I’ve watched it. The Jack Frost film that came out a year before had nothing to do with that at all. It’s about a snowman that murders people. It’s easy to get the two confused. 

The Plot

Jack Frost (Yes, that’s his actual name) is a murderer who has killed a shitload of people before the town sheriff caught him. Jack vows revenge on the good sheriff. While they are taking Jack to jail or something, the truck crashes with a tanker that has like radioactive material or something. It makes Jack Frost into an evil snowman. The snowman can make himself water, ice, or whatever it damn well pleases. He spends most of the film killing the people in town. He even rapes Shannon Elizabeth in the bathtub. He does all this while delivering corny one liners. In the end, they defeat him with antifreeze…or maybe not. Cliffhanger endings! Woo! 

Analysis

I enjoy the low budget special effects of the film. The snowman is pretty hilarious and I love how it shows up in different places. The acting isn’t too great and that is to be expected in a film like this. I do enjoy the guy playing Jack Frost. His one liners are hit and miss but he provides excitement to the role. I would say he is easily the best actor in the film. Michael Keaton would have a tough job overcoming that performance. 

Final Thoughts

I wish I did a running commentary on this film like I did for some of my Halloween reviews this year. I will say that the film gets a bit boring since Jack is killing off characters we don’t care about. I’d say the sheriff is the only likable guy, but even he’s pretty boring. I spaced out of the last half hour of the film. I might recommend it for a few laughs, but I wouldn’t tell you to go out of your way to watch it. 

Leave a Reply

